first_imgMichael Black stormed to victory in the inaugural 5miles New Year run in Letterkenny on Sunday.The local sporting fitness businessman and chairman of LAC clocked a superb time of 26.48 to take the honours, a minute ahead of club colleague, Ivan Toner (2nd – 27.36) and 24/7 Triathlon club member and well known local coach, Adam Speer (27.44).A total of 108 athletes put their toes to the line for the race and despite a stiff head win in the first section of the race the route produced very good times. The ever improving, Noreen McGettigan of LAC, won the senior womens race finishing 28th overall in a time of 32.25. The Kilmacrennan based athlete was ahead of club colleague Margaret Kelly (36th overall) in a time of 33.18 while Maria Boyle took third place in the women’s race with a time of 33.50.Elsewhere, the evergreen and inspirational Kevin Toner was first Over-60 finishing 27th overall in a time of 32.13 while Marty Gormley (17th overall in a time of 30.08) ahead of well known local financial consultant, Garvan McCloskey (31st- 32..38).Popular John Daly (12th overall- 29.46) was the first man home in the Over-40 category ahead of the improving Ciaran O’Donnell (23rd- 31.35).It was a very pleasing result for Ciaran on two fronts as he was one of the key organisers and brainchild behind staging the event. “We’re delighted with the turnout. It goes to show the appetite for good quality racing and there are more and more people getting into the sport which is great to see,” he said.Special mention must be made of husband and wife team, Seamus and Marjorie Morrison who along with their young son, Darragh, competed. Roll on a promising year ahead for all three.The full list of results is as follows:LAC – NEW YEAR 5Mile 2012Place Race No. Time FirstName Surname Category Club 1 204 26.48 Michael Black SM Letterkenny A C2 213 27.36 Ivan Toner SM Letterkenny A C3 306 27.44 Adam Speer SM 24/7 Triathlon4 262 27.58 Gavin Crawford SM Letterkenny A C 5 270 28.09 Sean Mc Shane SM Individual6 297 28.24 Garvan Walker SM Letterkenny A C7 227 29.11 Paul Cullen SM 24/7 Triathlon8 205 29.31 Kevin Ferry SM Letterkenny A C9 253 29.34 James Crossan SM Lifford A C10 206 29.41 Daniel Hannigan SM Lifford A C11 217 29.44 Marcus Mc Clintock SM Letterkenny A C12 201 29.46 John Daly M40 Letterkenny A C13 207 29.51 Jimmy Renfrew M50 Enniskillen14 272 29.53 Joe English M50 Letterkenny A C15 208 29.56 Kevin Donnelly SM Lifford A C16 242 30.02 Pauraic O’ Donnell SM Individual17 235 30.08 Martin Gormley M45 Letterkenny A C18 277 30.28 Declan Caldwell SM Inishowen A C19 252 30.46 Paul Mc Intyre SM 24/7 Triathlon20 282 31.03 Michael Duffy SM Cranford A C21 225 31.24 Paul Doherty SM 24/7 Triathlon22 261 31.33 Pádraig Friel SM Letterkenny A C23 220 31.35 Ciaran O’Donnell M40 Letterkenny A C24 305 31.37 Michael Logue SM Rosses A.C.25 230 32.08 Drew Doherty M50 Finn Valley A C26 234 32.12 Ben George SM Letterkenny A C27 214 32.13 Kevin Toner M60 Letterkenny A C28 263 32.25 Noreen Mc Gettigan SW Letterkenny A C29 224 32.26 Paudraig Kelly SM Letterkenny A C30 264 32.30 Ciaran Hegarty SM Individual31 260 32.38 Garvan Mc Closkey M45 Letterkenny A C32 289 32.41 Gareth Mc Laughlin SM Inishowen A C33 254 32.48 Martin Devenny SM Lifford A C34 278 33.13 Adrian Toye SM Individual35 210 33.15 Gerard Mullen SM Letterkenny A C36 223 33.18 Margaret Kelly W40 Letterkenny A C37 216 33.30 Hugh Gallagher M50 Letterkenny A C38 269 33.31 Brendan Mc Cole M45 Rosses A.C.39 202 33.34 Paddy Ward M50 Letterkenny A C40 211 33.50 Marie Boyle SW Individual41 298 34.05 Gavin Hunter SM Individual42 250 34.25 Richard Raymond M50 Letterkenny A C43 293 34.42 Garvin Mulligan SM Individual44 292 34.44 Derek Gillespie SM Rosses A.C.45 280 34.54 Jerome Burke SM Individual46 284 35.04 Brendan Mc Dyre SM Individual47 209 35.05 Kieran Bovard M40 Individual48 288 35.14 Paul Harris M40 Letterkenny A C49 255 35.15 Noel Lynch M40 Letterkenny A C50 222 35.15 Hugh O’ Donnell M50 Individual51 283 35.19 Paul O’ Gara M40 24/7 Triathlon52 281 35.33 Annraoi Cheevers SM Letterkenny A C53 307 35.36 Paul Dillon SM 24/7 Triathlon54 279 35.45 Deirdre Diver SW Rosses A.C.55 203 35.48 Lester Dobson M40 Letterkenny A C56 276 35.51 Mark Bolton SM Letterkenny A C57 258 35.52 Irene Mc Fadden SW Letterkenny A C58 245 35.53 Colly O’ Donnell M40 Letterkenny A C59 246 35.55 Daniel Cullen SM Letterkenny A C60 241 36.00 Gabriel Mc Crossan M45 Letterkenny A C61 268 36.06 John Grant SM Finn Valley A C62 239 36.16 Colin Mooney SM Individual63 229 36.21 Steven Shiels SM Letterkenny A C64 259 36.27 Billy Gallagher SM Lifford A C65 299 36.33 Basil Malone SM Individual66 221 36.37 Lee Gildea SM Letterkenny A C67 267 36.45 Helen Mc Cready SW Rosses A.C.68 287 36.55 Phil Boyle M40 Letterkenny A C69 265 37.04 Eunan Mc Bride M45 Letterkenny A C70 212 37.05 Monica Mc Granaghan SW Letterkenny A C71 219 37.11 Bill Vaughan M45 Individual72 294 37.26 Darren Mc Elwaine SM Individual73 237 37.38 Eddie Duffy SM Individual74 256 37.41 Paul Mc Guckan M40 Tír Chonaill A C75 247 37.46 Patrick Mc Namee SM Individual76 231 37.50 Margaret Shiels W40 Letterkenny A C77 308 38.07 Kieran Coyle SM Individual78 244 38.28 Simon Stephens SM Individual79 218 38.33 Kathleen Mc Kinley SW Individual80 266 38.36 Sean Bonner SM Individual81 286 38.40 Pauric Hilferty SM Individual82 285 38.43 Thomas Cullen SM Individual83 251 38.45 Siobhan Gallagher SW Individual84 257 38.53 Billy Bennett M40 Unattached85 296 39.11 Charlie Joe Mc Ginley M40 Letterkenny A C86 236 39.21 Seamus Mc Daid M40 Inishowen A C87 291 39.29 Graham Parker SM 24/7 Triathlon88 273 39.45 John Coleman M45 Letterkenny A C89 238 39.49 Diarmuid Doherty SM Letterkenny A C90 240 39.53 Mairead Mc Ginty SW Letterkenny A C91 248 40.01 Terry Mc Devitt SM Individual92 300 40.42 Aine Malone SW Individual93 232 40.47 Amanda Mc Nulty SW Letterkenny A C94 233 41.52 Ann Doherty SW Individual95 249 42.10 Ryan Dorrian SM Individual96 274 42.52 Dympna Barrett W40 Individual97 243 44.12 Mary Higgins SW Individual98 290 45.34 Ruth Mc Crudden W45 Individual99 275 46.03 James Mc Ginley SM Individual100 228 46.03 Sara Doherty SW Individual101 295 48.10 Alan Cunningham M40 Individual102 304 51.14 Darragh Morrisson JM Letterkenny A C103 215 52.32 Ann Gallagher SW Individual104 302 58.55 Seamus Morrison M40 Letterkenny A C105 303 58.55 Marjorie Morrisson W40 Letterkenny A CBLACK WINS INAUGURAL 5 MILE LETTERKENNY ROAD RACE was last modified: January 9th, 2012 by StephenShare this:Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on LinkedIn (Opens in new window)Click to share on Reddit (Opens in new window)Click to share on Pocket (Opens in new window)Click to share on Telegram (Opens in new window)Click to share on WhatsApp (Opens in new window)Click to share on Skype (Opens in new window)Click to print (Opens in new window)Tags:Five Mile RaceletterkennyMichael Blacklast_img